DK Expressions

Time Travellers Freezing your Good Times in Space

Cirque du Soleil’s – Dralion

Leave a comment

The original album artwork of Dralion, 1999

The original album artwork of Dralion, 1999 (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

The show Dralion, Cirque du Soleil, introduced...

The show Dralion, Cirque du Soleil, introduced in 2004 (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

This is how the 

Time Travellers -Tegwin Zeth Deacon & Massimo Da Silva & KK

Freeze Time & Space for DK Expressions 

Tickets still available through www.bigconcerts.co.za and show runs through to Saturday March 30th 2013

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

 

In order to get the scope you need to know some numbers

360 000lb stage

7200 wheels

Over 4 500, the number of shows the band leader has performed in a row not missing one

3 000 pieces of costume

3 000 pairs of shoes

182 loads, that’s 26 loads of washing in 7 washing machines

110 stage technicians

50 performers

1 show

On the way to the afternoon practice session I was quite excited having never seen Cirque Du Soleil. We got to the MTN Dome, exchanged pleasantries with the other journo’s, then felt about as manly as an 18 year old girl watching Titanic while she’s ovulating and realise we REALLY need to start working out again as the wonderful Dionne from The Publicity Workshop recounted her experience of competing in and finishing The Warrior race while an impossibly buff and ripped dude who could’ve had the decency to put a shirt on did some rather impressive stunts with his mighty fine partner on ropes hanging from the gantry. We then met Julie from Cirque Du Soleil who gave us an incredibly detailed account of the history of the circus, sets, set design, costumes, performers and crew. The woman really knows her job! Having arrived late we only managed to catch some performers practising some insane things on the trampolines before we were shooed out by a hilarious Dionne telling us we’ll see it all in the show later that evening. I wish I was even remotely prepared for what I was about to see… Dralion is a mind bending experience of unbelievable human feats. My inner 9 year old would be steering the ship from here on in. Immediately we were sucked into the world of Dralion. The attention to detail was amazing. From the make-up (which was done by the performers themselves) to the costumes to the Chinese temple stage. Acts that stood out for me were the trampoline troupe who wowed us with their superior spatial awareness, twists, double and even triple somersaults quite literally all over the show. The Bamboo act was also nothing to be scoffed at with some of the most impressive. I badly want a pair of those pants. What stole the show for me was the Medusa act with the 6 acrobats performing feats of unnatural bendiness, strength, and balance generally making you say “Yoh!!” I thought to myself if I had seen this show in my varsity days when I was an avid enthusiast of the green it probably would’ve blown my mind. Then I realised that I don’t know what I’m talking about, my mind was blown and I was dead sober!  What an amazing show.  A show for the whole family, lovers, mates and especially stoners. Get yourselves some tickets through www.bigconcerts.co.za and show runs through to Saturday March 30th 2013.

Review has been frozen in Time & Space by

DK Expressions Time Traveller (KK) Khulani Mtimkulu 

 

Author: dalekopping

Well what can I say, I'm a total extrovert who loves Good Music, Delicious Food, Sports Tech, the great Outdoors, and all things new and trendy.

Dont be shy, tell me your thoughts and views